Donate to the SA Liberals

Marshall establishes Regional Affairs Committee

May 05, 2014
Adrian Pederick MP
Member for Hammond
Marshall establishes Regional Affairs Committee
State Liberal Leader Steven Marshall has established an internal working committee responsible for keeping the Weatherill Labor Government to account with its post-election commitment to re-establish confidence in South Australia’s regional communities.
The Regional Affairs Committee, to be chaired by Liberal Member for Hammond, Adrian Pederick, will be concerned with all matters regarding regional South Australia and hopes to work closely with recently appointed Regional Development Minister Geoff Brock.
“The Weatherill Labor Government has neglected South Australia’s regions for 12 years,” said Mr Pederick.
“The Regional Affairs Committee has been established to highlight this neglect and reinforce the State Liberals’ commitment to regional South Australia.
“This committee will put pressure on the Weatherill Labor Government to keep to its post-election commitments and will highlight the many issues facing regional communities.”
The Regional Affairs Committee is made up of current regional Liberal MPs and will work closely with relevant Shadow Ministers on a broad range of regional issues.
“The Regional Affairs Committee will look at regional health, education and infrastructure matters as well as issues concerning the primary industries and the environment,” said Mr Pederick.
“Committee members will engage with industry leaders, key stakeholders and local governments and we hope to meet with Minister Brock regularly to discuss matters concerning South Australia’s regional communities.
“This committee will continually raise the important issues facing our communities with Minister Brock and the Weatherill Labor Government.
“The State Liberals understand that we need to support our regional communities to grow jobs, improve infrastructure and reinvigorate our economy.”



Get Involved

Contact the State Liberal Secretariat

SA Shadow Cabinet
About the Party
State Policies
Join the Party
GPO BOX 20 Adelaide SA 5001
Phone: 08 8205 0255
Fax: 08 8205 0256